The South African Local Government Association (SALGA)

(SALGA) is an autonomous association of municipalities with its mandate derived from the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa. This mandate defines SALGA as the voice and sole representative of local government. SALGA interfaces with parliament, the National Council of Provinces (NCOP), cabinet as well as provincial legislatures. The association is a unitary body with a membership of 278 municipalities, with its national office based in Pretoria and offices in all nine provinces.

SALGAs mandate can be divided into four key areas:

  • Advice and support - policy analysis, research and monitoring, knowledge exchange and support to members
  • Representation - stakeholder engagement; lobbying on behalf of local government in relation to national policies and legislation
  • Act as an employer body - collective bargaining on behalf of our members; capacity building and municipal human resources
  • Strategic Profiling - building the profile and image of local government locally and internationally

SALGA Eastern Cape contact details:

Telephone: (043) 727 1150
Fax: (043) 7271156/67

Physical Address:
Berea Terrace Office Bldg
First Floor Suite 3
East London




Province of the Eastern Cape
Home of Legends

Call Us on: +27 (0) 43 701 3400
E-Mail Us :
Fraud Hotline: 0800 701 701

Copyright. 2016 ECSECC. All Rights Reserved.